Council Life · Random Thoughts · Thomasian Artlet

Secretary mode ON!

April 23, 2013.

I couldn’t sleep last night. I was bothered by something I knew the only way out is the expense of a white lie. I was given two options—do what I enjoy with pleasure or do what I am falling in love with. Yes, you are correct. I chose the latter one. I will always find the pleasure of doing what I am starting to fall in love with. In fact, it’s a given thing. I am hitting two birds with one stone. It’s a blissful blessing. There have been several arguments on the proposition of a white lie. However, I’d like to believe that if it’s for the benefit of the many, DO IT.

For the first time, I woke up early and prepared myself as I go to school. Anxious, nervous and name all those ending with –ous, I am certainly feeling it. It’s my FIRST REAL work as Secretary, to manually eReserve our venue for the AB Leadership Training Seminar. So, I met up with two of my best guys though it feels incomplete because we’re missing one. Afterwards, I found my way to the office and got everything done.

What I’m trying to say is no profession is easy. It requires patience, diligence, commitment and of course, the heart to accomplish everything with God’s grace. I admit it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. I am not afraid to admit that I had those fears and what ifs. However, it should be more of WHY NOT and I CAN DO IT WITH GOD’S HELP.

This is only the beginning of a wonderful journey. Come what may, I will be prepared for it. I have approximately ten months to go before my term ends. I made a vow to give my Faculty, my home, the best of what they deserve. Like a seedling, it has nurtured and cultivated me for two years. I may not see but I can surely feel that I am growing into the person who I am meant to be.

“We don’t take care of the tree but we take care of the FRUIT.”

This is what our dear institution does. We are the fruit of their hard work and persistence because they see the potential in each of us. The moment we stepped foot on UST’s grounds, we knew from that moment on, we are shall make history. Imbued with commitment, compassion and competence, we are geared towards a brighter path.

Embracing all of this, I know deep inside that I AM THE THOMASIAN ARTLET whom I shall be. I shall not let anyone down. Their trust is the most valuable thing I could ever receive.

Hello, A.Y. 2013-2014!

I can’t wait to see everyone from the freshmen to the seniors! It’s going to be one hell of a ride! May the Blessed Virgin Mary pray over us; guided by the light of St. Thomas Aquinas and by God’s grace, everything is possible!

Leave a Reply

